Message From the Mayor

J. Scott Padgett

J. Scott Padgett was elected to the position of Mayor in 2001 after serving on the City Council since 1995. A longtime resident of Concord, Scott is a retired elementary school principal who received his undergraduate degree from Appalachian State University, Master of Education Degree from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and an Advanced Degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Very active in the community, Scott is a member of the Concord Rotary Club (Paul Harris Fellow and former Board of Directors member), and All Saints Episcopal Church. He is a past member of the North Carolina League of Municipalities Board of Directors, is an active participant in the U.S. Conference of Mayors, and is a current board member of the N.C. Metropolitan Mayors Coalition. He also currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Cabarrus Boys & Girls Club and Cabarrus Bank & Trust. He is a member of the Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Board of Trustees, has received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce, and has been honored with the Order of The Long Leaf Pine.

Prior to becoming an elected official of the City, Mayor Padgett served as a member of Concord’s Planning and Zoning Commission. He is married and has one child and three grandchildren. Mayor Padgett states, “I have always been impressed with the leadership in Concord, and it is an honor to serve the citizens. We have many challenges today, but they are no greater than those faced by our forefathers. Working together, we can make this an even better place in which to live and work.”

A Message from the Mayor 

Families are the building blocks of community 

One of the best things about my role as Concord’s Mayor is the opportunity to meet so many people who live here, including the many people who chose to make Concord their home by moving here. In December, I had the good fortune to meet Fred and Judy Weber, along with some of their family, at the Historic Concord Tour of Homes. They moved here from California about eight years ago, and have been joined in the area by a total of 15 relatives from around the country. I hope you’ll enjoy learning what brought them all here in the story in our most recent City Circular.

As a coincidence, Fred and Judy’s daughter, Lea Halloway, was recently sworn in after being appointed by City Council to serve on the Historic Preservation Commission. While the City of Concord is governed by elected officials, there are several boards, commissions, and committees that also provide oversight and support for City affairs. The City Council appoints individuals to serve on these boards, which cover a wide range of issues. Residents are encouraged to consider serving on a city board, commission, or committee. Anyone interested in an appointment or wishing to make a nomination for appointment to any of these boards should submit an application to the City Clerk's Office.

Governor Pat McCrory and Secretary of Cultural Resources Susan Kluttz
visited Concord in January, as part of the effort to request that the state legislature reinstate the Historic Preservation Rehabilitation Tax Credit program. This program has resulted in over $1.64 billion in private investment since 1998, but expired at the end of 2014. Concord is a vivid example of what this program can do for private investment, with the current restoration of the old Downtown furniture store building into 26 luxury apartments, and the potential project to redevelop the adjacent Hotel Concord and bank property. Many families have been able to restore historic homes and make business investments because of the HTC. If you have not done so already, please visit to learn more and sign the petition.

The Phifer name has ties to the area that go back over two centuries. Beginning March 24, a collection of art originally donated by Robert Fulenwider Phifer (1849-1928) will be on loan from the
North Carolina Museum of Art, and exhibited in the Concord Museum by Historic Cabarrus. This exhibition, located in the Historic Cabarrus County Courthouse at 65 Union Street S, is made possible by the efforts of Judge Marty McGee together with the Historic Cabarrus Association and Cabarrus Arts Council. Phifer, the first benefactor of the North Carolina Museum of Art, was born in Concord and the fifth of seven children. His great-grandfather, Martin Phifer, Jr. was personally visited at his home known as Red Hill by General George Washington on his southern tour in 1791. This visit is part of Concord's history included in the Union-Market Passageway murals completed by artist Sharon Dowell in 2013. The public exhibition will kick off the same night as Cabarrus Arts Council's March Art Walk, and continue through July 25. On Saturday, April 18, free bus tours will be available at 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m., taking participants through First Presbyterian Church's Memorial Garden in Downtown Concord, the City's Oakwood Cemetery, and the Phifer family cemetery located in the area near Red Hill. Local experts and historians will share the story of this family and these historical sites at each stop and during the bus rides. For more information about this exhibition and associated activities, please visit

Many families in the area include Vietnam Veterans, and I would say most if not all have a connection to veterans from other times in our history. In May, the City of Concord and our colleagues at Cabarrus County are partnering with NASCAR hauler drivers and JHE Production Group to honor local Vietnam Veterans and commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Vietnam War. Concord was the first City in North Carolina to join the official United States of America Vietnam War Commemoration
Commemorative Partner Program. Cabarrus County held a ceremony for its Commemorative Partner designation at the dedication of Vietnam Veterans Park in the fall. On Thursday, May 14 at 5:00 p.m., a special ceremony will be held Downtown at Union Street and Means Avenue, where the City will officially receive its commemorative flag and a proclamation from President Obama. Following the ceremony, NASCAR Sprint Cup haulers will parade through Downtown on their way to load in at Charlotte Motor Speedway for the All-Star Race. The evening will culminate in a free concert by local band Route 66, beginning after the last hauler passes by. I hope you will visit to learn more about this event.