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ARTICLE I. GENERAL 02.01

Sec. 34-1. Disposal of hot ashes.

No person shall empty hot ashes on or near any sweepings, shavings or inflamma-

ble material of any kind within the city limits.

(Code 1987, § 6-1; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-2. Fireworks.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be unlawful for any per-

son to possess, store, offer for sale or sell at retail, any kind or type of fire-

works of any description within the corporate limits of the city. This subsec-

tion shall not apply to fireworks exempted under G.S. § 14-414.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be unlawful for any per-

son to discharge in any manner any kind or type of fireworks of any descrip-

tion within the corporate limits of the city. This subsection shall not apply to

fireworks exempted under G.S. § 14-414 or to a public display of fireworks as

permitted by the North Carolina Fire Prevention Code and North Carolina

General Statute Chapter 58, Article 82A.

(c) Any person seeking to conduct a public display of fireworks shall obtain a per-

mit and submit a plan in writing at least 15 working days prior to the display to

the fire department with the following information:

1. The name of the person, group, or organization responsible

for the display;

2. All North Carolina Pyrotechnic Display Operator’s License

card/certificates of the individuals to discharge pyrotechnics;

3. The date and time of the display;

4. The location of the display;

5. The duration of the display;

6. A narrative description of the display;

7. A site plan showing the following:

a. The location of the audience;

b. The area affected by the display;

c. All buildings, structures and parking lots affected by the

display;

d. Means of egress;

e. Fire protection features and locations;

f. PPE to be worn by operators during initiation or electronic

firing controls to be utilized by operators during the display.



4
February 19, 2015

(d) The use of fireworks, pyrotechnic or flame effect devices shall meet the fol-

lowing codes and standards:

(1) NFPA 106—Standard for flame effects before an audience.

(2) NFPA 1123—Code for fireworks display.

(3) NFPA 1126—Standard for the use of pyrotechnics before a

proximate audience.

(4) North Carolina State Building Code- Volume V Fire Preven-

tion Code Chapter 20 33.

(5) North Carolina General Statute Chapter 58, Article 82A.

(e) Fireworks found within the city limits except for those exempted by G.S. § 14-

414 are hereby declared to be contraband and subject to seizure by any

member of the fire prevention bureau of the fire department or a law enforce-

ment officer unless possessed by a permittee for a public display of fireworks

as permitted by the state fire prevention code.

(f) Any person who shall violate the provisions of subsections (a) or (b) of this

section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punishable by imprison-

ment up to 30 days or a fine of $500.00, or both. Violators may be subject to a

$500.00 civil penalty to be recovered in the nature of a debt.

(Code 1987, § 6-3; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

State law reference— Regulation of explosives, G.S. 160A-183; pyrotechnics, G.S. 14-410 et seq.

Sec. 34-3. Lock boxes.

(a) Required.

(1) All commercial enterprises or industries in the city which use, store or manu-

facture on-site hazardous materials that must be reported under state right-

to-know laws, G.S. § 95-173 et seq., or under Title III of the Federal Super-

fund Amendments and Reauthorization Act and the regulations promulgated

thereunder, must have an approved on-site hazardous materials data stor-

age box at each facility where hazardous materials may be found.

(2) All facilities which have a system which transmits off-site alarms for fire de-

tection or suppression systems must have an approved on-site lock box

which contains keys to provide fire department access in an emergency or

alarm activation.

(3) Keys in boxes must be kept up-to-date. When locks are changed the Fire

Marshal's Office must be notified and new keys provided for the box.
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(b) Contents, types and location of data storage box.

(1) This data storage box may contain keys providing access to secured por-

tions of the facility. The box shall contain current specific information to as-

sist fire departments and hazardous materials teams responding to emer-

gencies at the facility including, but not limited to, facility maps or plans

showing the type and location of hazardous materials, Tier II forms, lists of

chemicals with CAS numbers, Chemical Safety Data Sheets, telephone

numbers for facility employees and other persons to be contacted in case of

such emergencies.

(2) All information requested on the city fire department data storage sheets

must be provided on the forms provided by the city fire department, or in a

substantially similar format, and must be placed in the data storage box.

Such information must be updated continuously to ensure its accuracy.

(3) The data storage box itself shall be of the type designated and approved by

the city fire department and shall be located at or near the primary entrance

to the facility and installed in accordance with directives of the chief of the

fire department.

(c) Violations; enforcement.

(1) Violations of this section shall be a misdemeanor punishable by a $500.00

fine as provided under G.S. §§ 160A-175 and 14-4. Violators may be sub-

ject to a $500.00 civil penalty to be recovered in the nature of a debt. Each

day's continuing violation shall constitute a separate offense as provided by

G.S. § 160A-175(g).

(2) The municipality may also secure injunctive and other appropriate equitable

remedies to ensure compliance with this chapter, as provided by G.S. §

160A-175.

(3) Enforcement actions may be initiated by the inspectors of the city fire de-

partment, bureau chief or chief of the fire department.

(d) Exceptions.

(1) Whereas the city recognizes that certain commercial enterprises maintain

24-hour security and emergency responses, such enterprises may propose

measures which will provide immediate access to vital information on a 24-

hour basis, 365 days per year. This information must meet the criterion of

information stored in the lock boxes and be available to initial arriving emer-

gency response vehicles.

(2) The duplicate copies of the proposal must be sent to the city fire depart-

ment. Each proposal must specify the means by which the commercial en-

terprise will provide services equal to that of the lock box program.

(3) All proposals will be reviewed on an individual basis. Proposals must be re-

newed on a yearly basis.

(Code 1987, § 6-5; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)
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Sec. 34-4. Open burning.

Definitions. The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this section, shall have

the meanings ascribed to them in this subsection, except where the context clearly indi-

cates a different meaning:

Open burning means the burning of any matter in such a manner that the

products of combustion resulting from the burning are emitted directly into the at-

mosphere without passing through a chimney, or a permitted air pollution control

device.

Pile means a quantity of objects or materials stacked or thrown together in a

heap, three feet (914 mm) or less in diameter and two feet (610 mm) or less in

height.

Stack means a usually conical shaped pile of debris or material, three feet

(914 mm) or less in diameter and two feet (610 mm) or less in height.

(b) Prohibited acts. No person shall ignite, cause to be ignited, permit to be ignited, allow or

maintain, kindle or maintain within the corporate limits of the city any open burning fire.

(c) Exceptions. Exceptions shall include only the following:

(1) Training fires set for the purpose of instruction and training of public and

industrial employees in the methods of firefighting. Prior to commencement

of open burning, the fire department shall be notified. All open burning for

this purpose shall meet the requirements of all state regulations.

(2) Open fires for cooking, heating, religious and ceremonial fires shall be al-

lowed when such fire is not composed, in whole or substantial part, of

leaves or yard waste, and the location of such fire, and the items necessary

for its containment, and provided that the emission of smoke and fumes do

not irritate, annoy or constitute a nuisance to others. Such fires shall be con-

ducted in accordance with the North Carolina Fire Prevention Code, be con-

tained in a campfire pit meeting the requirements of pile and/or stack, con-

fined to a container no larger than a 55-gallon drum or other device de-

signed for such use. Fuels for such fires must be naturally cut wood, char-

coal, propane or natural gas; no construction materials or building materials

shall be permitted.

(3) Bonfires, public or private, shall require a permit and are subject to approval

of the fire department. Approval will be granted on the sole discretion of the

fire department based upon:

a. The proximity of the proposed fire to dwellings, trees, woods and

other structures.

b. Facilities available for fire management.
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c. Atmospheric conditions.

d. Type of material to be burnt: must be naturally cut wood, three inch-

es in diameter or smaller; no construction materials or building ma-

terials.

e. The bonfire shall be no more than five feet by five feet by five feet in

dimension and shall burn no longer than three hours.

f. Any other consideration judged by the fire department to be required

to ensure safe burning.

g. Such fires shall be maintained in accordance with the North Carolina

Fire Prevention Code.

Failure to maintain bonfires in accordance with this section shall constitute

fire extinguishment and revocation of the permit.

(4) Fires set for the purpose of disposing of waste propellants, explosives or

pyrotechnics, including associated contaminated wastes. The fires must be

necessary and the waste not able to be disposed of by any other means

than burning. No materials shall be imported from off-site for disposal. A

permit must be obtained for fires used for this purpose.

(5) On the sole discretion of the fire department when there exists an extreme

or emergency circumstance which lacks any other reasonable means of dis-

posing of items which need to be disposed of, and not addressed in this

section, the fire department may issue a permit to burn. These fires shall be

limited to the disposal of material generated during a natural disaster, such

as a tornado, hurricane or flood.

(6) Fires set as part of commercial film or video production activities for motion

pictures and television or fires set as part of a planned civic event designed

to educate or otherwise benefit the public.

a. The use of fireworks, pyrotechnic or flame effect devices used in

conjunction with or to initiate such fires shall meet the following

codes and standards:

1. NFPA 106—Standard for flame effects before an audience.

2. NFPA 1123—Code for fireworks display.

3. NFPA 1126—Standard for the use of pyrotechnics before a

proximate audience.

4. North Carolina State Building Fire Prevention Code Chapter

33.

5. North Carolina General Statute Chapter 58 Article 82A –

Pyrotechnics Training and Permitting.

b. Any person seeking to conduct a fire for such reasons shall obtain a

permit and submit a plan in writing at least 15 working days prior to

the burn to the fire department with the following information:
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1. The name of the person, group, or organization responsible

for the production;

2. If applicable, North Carolina Pyrotechnic Display Operators

License card/certificate of the individuals to discharge pyro-

technics;

3. The date and time of the production;

4. The location of the production;

5. The duration of the burn;

6. A narrative description of the burn;

7. A site plan showing the following:

i. The location of the audience;

ii. The area affected by the burn;

iii. Means of egress;

iv. Fire protection features and locations.

8. PPE to be worn by operators during initiation or electronic

firing controls to be utilized by operators during the display.

(d) Violations and enforcement.

(1) The fire official shall have the authority to summarily abate any condition

that is in violation of this section and that presents an immediate fire hazard

to life or property.

(2) Any open burning in violation of this section shall be extinguished by the

responsible party or the fire department.

(3) All costs incurred by the city for enforcement of this section will be the re-

sponsibility of the party in violation of this section and will be added to the

fine.

(4) A civil fine shall be issued to any person or company violating the provisions

of this section. The civil fine for residential violations shall be $50.00 and

$100.00 for any repeat violation. The civil fine for commercial violations of

this section shall be $500.00 per stack or pile and $1,000.00 per stack or

pile for any repeat violation by the same person or company.

(5) Violations of this section shall be a misdemeanor as provided under G.S. §§

160A-175 and 14-4. Each day's continuing violation shall constitute a sepa-

rate offense as provided by G.S. §§ 160A-175(g).

(Ord. No. 00-49, § 1, 6-28-2000; Ord. No. 01-16, §§ 2(3)(f), 2(4)(d), 4-12-2001; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-

2006)

Sec. 34-5. False alarms.

(a) False fire alarms defined. A fire alarm means the activation of a fire alarm system

through mechanical or electronic failure, malfunction, improper installation, or the inten-

tional acts or negligence of the alarm user, his/her employees or agents, to
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summon fire department personnel, unless fire department response was cancelled by

the alarm company (designated by the alarm user) prior to fire department personnel

arrival on the scene. An alarm is false within the meaning of this chapter when, upon

inspection by the fire department, evidence indicates that no fire, smoke or other condi-

tion exists in or on the premises which would have activated a properly functioning fire

alarm system. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a false alarm shall not include an alarm

which can reasonably be determined by the investigating officer to have been caused or

activated by a violent condition of nature including but not limited to flood, hurricane,

lightning, blizzard or other similar condition outside the alarm user's control. In addition,

an alarm activated during an alarm system testing procedure shall not be considered a

false alarm if the alarm user first notifies the fire department and notifies and receives

permission from the user's alarm company, or designee, to test the system. This section

shall not apply to burglar alarms or other types of alarms to which fire department re-

sponse is neither required nor customary. (Reference Chapter 36 of this Code for addi-

tional information regarding alarms responded to by entities other than the fire depart-

ment.)

(b) Civil penalty for false alarms. No civil penalty shall be incurred for the first or second

false alarms occurring during any rolling 90-day period. The third occurrence of a false

alarm in any 90-day rolling period shall result in a civil penalty of $250.00 or as speci-

fied in the then-current fees, rates and charges schedule adopted as part of the City of

Concord Annual Operating Budget. Each additional false alarm, in excess of three, oc-

curring in the same rolling 90-day period shall result in additional civil penalties in ac-

cordance with this section. For the purpose of this section, a "rolling" time period shall

begin on the date of the first event and end 90 days from that date if no further events

occur. If additional events occur prior to the date that is 90 days from the date of the

first event, the ninety days may "roll" forward until such time as 90 days pass without

the occurrence of an event.
(c) Duties of the alarm user, his/her employees or agents:

1. Users shall maintain the alarm system and related premises in a manner that will
reduce or eliminate false alarms;

2. Users shall respond to or cause a representative to respond to the alarm system's
location within 30 minutes of being notified by the Concord Fire Department and/or
City of Concord Emergency Communications to deactivate an alarm system; pro-
vide right of entry to the premises; provide alternative security for the premises;
and/or take control of the premises upon fire department release of the premises
and departure.

3. Users shall not manually activate an alarm system for any reason other than for the

systems intended purposes; to perform an Emergency Evacuation Drill (Fire Drill)

as required the North Carolina Fire Code; or to perform routine maintenance as pre-

scribed by alarm system provider, and only after notice to and permission for such

testing from the alarm company and the Concord Fire Department.
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4. Failure to follow the requirements of this section shall result in a fine of $250.00 per
occurrence. This fine shall be assessed in addition to any other fines assessed un-
der other sections of this chapter. In addition to this fine, neither the responding of-
ficer, nor the Concord Fire Department shall have, nor assume any responsibility for
securing, guarding or otherwise protecting any real or personal property that may
have become exposed during the event resulting in the alarm. In addition to any
fines under this section, the property owner and/or alarm user may be prosecuted
for violation of section 30-204 (4), et. seq. of the City Code regarding prohibited
noises.

(Ord. No. 08-110, § 1, 11-19-2008)

Sec. 34-81. Adoption.

(a) There is hereby adopted by reference the 2012 North Carolina Building Code and

Appendices B, C, D and revisions. The provisions of such code shall be controlling

within the limits of the city.

(b) The permits required by the Fire Marshal’s Office shall be listed on the fire depart-

ment inspection fee schedule.

(Code 1987, § 6-46; Ord. No. 02-03, § 1, 1-10-2002; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-82. Fire marshal's office; establishment and duties.

The North Carolina Fire Code of the state building code shall be enforced by the

Fire Marshal’s Office in the fire department of the city, which is hereby established and

which shall be operated under the supervision of the bureau chief.

(Code 1987, § 6-47; Ord. No. 02-03, § 1, 1-10-2002; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-83. District chief; appointment.

The district chief in charge of the Fire Marshal’s Office shall be appointed by the

chief of the fire department.

(Code 1987, § 6-48; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Cross reference— Administration, ch. 2.

(Code 1987, § 6-49; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Cross reference— Administration, ch. 2.

ARTICLE III. FIRE PREVENTION CODE
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Sec. 34-84. Inspectors.

The fire chief may detail such members of the department as inspectors as shall

from time to time be necessary.

(Code 1987, § 6-49; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Cross reference— Administration, ch. 2.

Sec. 34-85. Periodic inspections.

(a) Subject to the limitations and conditions stated in the state building code, it shall be

the duty of the district chief to inspect or cause to be inspected all buildings, struc-

tures and premises within his jurisdiction for the purposes of ascertaining and caus-

ing to be corrected any condition which may cause fire or explosion, endanger life

from fire or explosion, or any violations of the provisions of the code, or any other

ordinances pertaining to fire or explosion hazards in accordance with the minimum

periodic inspection schedule for occupancies approved by the state building code

council, or upon complaint by interested parties or if there is given probable cause

for such inspection.

(b) Fire inspections shall be conducted on all occupancies, except those exempted in

Section 102.13 of the North Carolina Fire Code, at a frequency not less than the

schedule listed in Section 106 of the North Carolina Fire Code.

Nothing in this section shall prevent inspection from being conducted at more fre-

quent intervals than listed in the schedule.

(Code 1987, § 6-50; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-86. Penalties.

a) Criminal penalties. Any person who shall violate or fail to comply with any provi-

sions of this Code shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and shall be fined not

more than $50.00. Each 30 days that such violation continues shall constitute a

separate and distinct criminal offense.

(b) Civil penalties. In addition to or in lieu of criminal penalties set forth in subsection

(a), violation of or failure to comply with the provisions of this Code shall, at the

election of the city, subject the offender to a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00

or as specified in the then-current fees, rates and charges schedule adopted as part

of the City of Concord Annual Operating Budget upon the issuance of a citation for

such violation as provided in this article. Each day's continuing violation shall consti-

tute a separate offense as provided by G.S. 160A-175(g).

(c) Equitable relief. In addition to the criminal and civil penalties set out in subsections

(a) and (b) of this section, any provision of this Code may be enforced by an appro-

priate equitable remedy, including but not limited to injunctive relief or order of

abatement, issuing from a court of competent jurisdiction in accordance with sub-
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subsection 1-6(h) of this Code and with the provisions of the North Carolina General

Statutes.

(Code 1987, § 6-51; Ord. No. 02-03, § 1, 1-10-2002; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006; Ord. No. 08-110, §

2, 11-19-2008)

Sec. 34-87. Notice of violation; methods of service.

(a) Notice of violation.

(1) Fire inspectors of the Fire Marshal’s Office shall issue notices of violation

when such fire inspectors have reasonable cause to believe that any person

has violated any provision of this Code.

(2) The notice of violation shall include specific factual information setting out

the nature of the violation, the code section violated, the date of the violation

and an order to immediately cease the violation or, if the violation is in the

nature of an infraction for which an order of abatement would be appropriate

in a civil proceeding, stating a reasonable period of time in which the viola-

tion must be abated. The notice of violation shall specify that failure to com-

ply with the code shall incur a civil penalty. The notice shall include appro-

priate information regarding how to schedule a hearing or other appropriate

procedure to appeal the violation.

(3) Any other provisions of this code notwithstanding, the following types of vio-

lations are hereby declared to constitute an imminent threat to the health,

safety and general welfare of the inhabitants of the city and may result in

the immediate citation for civil penalties without the necessity of any prior

notice of the violation:

(4) Any second violation of the same section of this Code or of the North Caroli-

na Fire Code portion of the North Carolina International Building Code shall

result in an immediate citation for civil penalties without the necessity of any

prior notice of the violation.

(b) Methods of service.

(1) The service of notices, citations, orders or any other document related to

violations of the code shall be made in accordance with the requirements

set forth in section 1-6 of this code.

(2) When buildings or other premises are occupied by one other than the owner

under a lease or other agreement, the orders or notices issued to correct

violations of the code shall apply to and shall be served upon the occupant;

provided, however, that the record owner shall be served with a copy of the

document served upon the tenant. Where the order or notice requires cor-

rective actions that do not involve additions or changes to the premises

themselves which may become part of the real property of the owner, then,

failure to deliver an order or notice to the owner, if other than the occupant,

shall not invalidate such order or notice. Where the order or notices require
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the making of additions to or changes in the premises themselves which

may become part of the real property of the owner, then, in such cases, the

orders or notices shall be issued to the owner of the premises or real prop-

erty, and may also be issued to the occupant.

(c) If the violator does not pay the penalty within the time frame set forth in the

notice of violation, a civil citation may be issued to the violator or person re-

sponsible assessing a civil penalty in accordance with subsection (b) here-

of. The civil citation shall meet the requirements set forth in section 1-6 of

this Code.

(d) If the violation is not corrected and/or the civil penalty is not paid within the

time allowed, the fire marshal may proceed with any of the remedies listed

above including, but not limited to, criminal charges against the violator.

(Code 1987, § 6-52; Ord. No. 02-03, § 1, 1-10-2002; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006; Ord. No. 08-110, §

3, 11-19-2008)

Sec. 34-88. Permits.

(a) It shall be the duty of the Fire Marshal’s Office to evaluate applications and issue, if

approved, all special use permits as listed on the fire inspection fee schedule. This

schedule may be revised upon approval of the city council. Applications for special

use permits shall be made on forms provided by the city.

(b) Fees for inspections, special use permits and other fire department services shall

be set out in a fee schedule. Printed schedules of the fees shall be available to the

public at the Fire Marshal’s Office, City of Concord website and the city clerk's of-

fice. A billing statement for charges listed on the schedule may be sent to the own-

er/occupant by the city finance department.

(c) Applications for permits required pursuant to the North Carolina Fire Code shall be

made to the Fire Marshal’s Office on forms provided by the city. The applicable per-

mit fee as established by the city shall accompany all applications. The required

permit fees shall be set out in a fee schedule. Printed schedules of the permit fees

shall be available to the public at the Fire Marshal’s Office, City of Concord website

and city clerk's office. The bureau chief is authorized to waive the permit fee for

governmental, religious or charitable organizations.

(d) The following optional permits as listed in section 105.6 of the North Carolina Fire

Code are adopted as mandatory within the City of Concord: Hazardous materials

105.6.20 and hazardous materials facilities 105.6.21

(Code 1987, § 6-53; Ord. No. 02-03, § 1, 1-10-2002; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)
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Sec. 34-89. Water supply - General.

Required fire flow. Fire flow requirements for new occupancies and additions shall be deter-

mined by utilizing one of the following approved methods:

ISO – Guide for the Determination of Needed Fire Flow.

North Carolina Fire Code Appendix B

(b) Fire hydrants. Fire hydrant coverage shall not exceed the limits established in

Chapter 5 and Appendix C of the North Carolina Fire Code to the most remote point

of any building covered by the state fire prevention code. The distance shall be

measured along an approved path of travel for the fire apparatus.

(c) Modification of distance requirements. Where warranted, the fire official shall have

the authority to modify the distance requirements in subsection (b) of this section

based on the nature, construction and square footage of the occupancy.

(Code 1987, § 6-54; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-90. Code requirements for fire service water mains, fire hydrants and

fire connections on private property.

(a) Fire service water mains.

(1) Fire service water mains shall be installed in accordance with approved

plans and the city engineering and water resources department require-

ments and specifications for water main construction. Fire service mains

shall also be installed in accordance with the National Fire Protection Asso-

ciation standard for the installation of private fire service mains and their

appurtenances, NFPA 24 . Conflicting provisions of the city engineering and

water resources department specifications and NFPA 24 requirements

should be reported to the city Fire Marshal’s Office.

(2) Fire service water mains, water meters and other appurtenances shall be

designed to provide the minimum combined required sprinkler demand (if

applicable) and needed fire flow at 20 pounds per square inch residual pres-

sure at the hydraulically most difficult fire hydrant.

a. It is assumed that other fire hydrants, if provided, will provide a

greater quantity of water at the same residual pressure.

(3) Required fire flow will be determined utilizing one of the following approved

methods:

ISO – Guide for the Determination of Needed Fire Flow.

North Carolina Fire Code Appendix B.

(4) Water flow testing will be conducted at the time of the Certificate of Occu-

pancy to determine that the water system meets the water supply quantities

determined in Sec. 34.90 (a)(2). Failure to meet the water flow requirements

in item number (2) will result in denial of Certificate of Occupancy.
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(b) Fire hydrants. Fire hydrant coverage shall not exceed the limits established in

Chapter 5 and Appendix C of the North Carolina Fire Code, to the most remote

point of any building covered by the state fire prevention code.

(1) For proper measurement, start at the fire hydrant and measure along the

same path of travel as a fire truck would use. Do not measure according to

the term "as the crow flies."

(2) The approach route of firefighting apparatus should be kept in mind as fire

hydrant locations are determined. Fire hydrants should be located so that

the fire apparatus will not have to go past the fire to catch a fire hydrant,

then double back to the fire.

(3) Fire hydrants shall be installed and painted according to the city engineering

and water resources department specifications.

(4) Each fire hydrant must be readily visible and within six feet of the curbline.

No obstructions are permitted between the hydrant and the curbline.

(5) All obstructions, such as fences, trees, shrubs, signs, etc., shall be at least

three feet from the fire hydrant in all directions. The city shall have the right

to cut, trim or remove obstructions to the extent and for the purpose of cor-

recting such hazards.

(6) The 5-inch storz connection of the fire hydrant shall always face the curb.

(7) The nut of the storz connection cap shall be no less than 18 inches nor more

than four feet above grade.

(c) Fire department connections. The fire department connections for standpipe or

sprinkler systems are important supplements to normal water supplies. Under fire

conditions, these devices permit the fire department to increase the water supply

and pressure to fire protection systems which may be materially reduced by a larger

number of sprinklers operating or by the use of hose streams from standpipe risers.

(1) Minimum size pipe shall be four-inch diameter.

(2) All fire department inlet pumper connections for commercial buildings shall

have, at least, one 5 inch storz connection and protective cap.

(3) The fire department connections at buildings provided with more than two

standpipe risers shall have one 5 inch storz connection and protective cap,

for each additional standpipe riser.

(4) Fire department connections on residential structures with residential sprin-

kler systems shall have one single 2½-inch National Standard threads swiv-

el connection.

(5) All fire department connections shall be located not less than 18 inches, nor

more than five feet above finished grade.

(6) All fire department connections shall be provided a clear space of ten feet

horizontally and vertically in all directions.

(7) All fire department connections shall be readily visible and not more than 50
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feet from a street, fire lane or similar area providing access to fire department appa-

ratus. The area between the connection and vehicular access shall be free

of obstructions.

(8) There shall be an approved pumper fire hydrant within 200 feet of the fire

department connection measured along an approved path of travel for the

fire apparatus.

(Code 1987, § 6-55; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-91. Installation, inspection and maintenance of private fire hydrants and

private water system components.

Installation. All newly installed private fire hydrants and private water systems shall be in-

stalled in accordance with and subject to the City of Concord’s ordinances, policies, and

standard specifications; NCAC Title 15A, Subchapter 18C Water Supplies; and NFPA

24 Standard for the Installation of Private Fire Service Mains and Their Appurtenances.

Inspection and maintenance. The owner of a private water system shall have all fire hy-

drants and water system components tested and inspected by a contractor licensed by

the State of North Carolina or a certified operator as defined in NCAC Title 15A, Sub-

chapter 18C. Testing and inspection shall occur within the required maintenance peri-

ods specified in NFPA 25 Standard for the Inspection, Testing and Maintenance of Wa-

ter-Based Fire Protection Systems.

Repairs. The owner of a private water system shall be responsible for the repairs or re-

placement of any damaged, broken, and/or inoperable hydrants and/or water system

components; and shall have all fire hydrant and/or water system component repairs or

replacements conducted by a contractor licensed by the State of North Carolina in ac-

cordance with NCAC Title 15A, Subchapter 18C and NFPA 25 Standard for the Inspec-

tion, Testing and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems.

Violations. Any person who fails to comply with the provisions of this section shall be sub-

ject to penalties in accordance with Sec. 34-86 of the City Code.

(Code 1987, § 6-56; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)
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Sec. 34-93. Fire lanes.

(a) Fire lanes shall be designated at all locations
within the authority and jurisdiction of the city in
accordance with the North Carolina Fire Code
and as approved by the fire code official.

(b) Fire lanes installed shall conform to the re-
quirements of the North Carolina Fire Code and
shall be approved by the fire code official prior to
installation.

(c) Fire lanes shall be installed in accordance
with the specifications on file at the FMO.

(d) Roadways, driveways and access ways shall
not be marked as fire lanes without first obtain-
ing approval from the fire department. Detailed plans showing the location of the lanes may be
required to determine whether or not any proposed markings meet specifications established
and on file at the fire prevention office.
(Ord. No. 03-81, §§ 1, 2, 9-11-03; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

Sec. 34-94. Signs and marking.

(a) All fire lanes and access roads must be marked with
signs indicating "No Parking Fire Lane" as described in the
specifications on file at the FMO

(b) Existing fire lanes shall continue in effect as installed
until such time as they are in need of restripping due to
wear or re-paving. When re-striped, existing fire lanes shall
be installed to current specifications.
(Ord. No. 03-81, §§ 1, 2, 9-11-03; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14
-2006)

Sec. 34-95. Violations and enforcement.

(a) Any person who parks a vehicle in, obstructs, or allows the obstruction of a designated fire
lane shall be liable for a civil penalty of $100.00 upon receipt of a citation issued by the fire or
police chief or any designee of either.

(b) Any vehicle or object obstructing a designated fire lane, wheth-
er public or private, may be towed or removed without prior notifi-
cation of the owner, and at the owner's expense.

(c) The registered owner of the vehicle parked in the fire lane shall
be responsible for all civil penalties issued and any towing or relat-
ed charges accruing hereunder.

(d) Civil penalties due hereunder shall be collected under the provi-
sions set forth in section 1-6.
(Ord. No. 03-81, §§ 1, 2, 9-11-03; Ord. No. 06-85, § 1, 9-14-2006)

See following pages for specifications.
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Fire Lane Specifications
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Sign Specification
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City Of Concord Standards 02.03

The following are City of Concord Standards pertaining to various local Code opinions.
These standards are derived from Section 102.7 (Subjects not regulated by this Code)
and 102.8 (Matters not provided for) of the North Carolina Fire Prevention Code
(2006).

102.7 Subjects not regulated by this code.
Where no applicable standards or requirements are set forth in this code, or are contained within
other laws, codes, regulations, ordinances or bylaws adopted by the jurisdiction, compliance
with applicable standards of the National Fire Protection Association or other nationally recog-
nized fire safety standards as are approved shall be deemed as prima facie evidence of compli-
ance with the intent of this code. Nothing herein shall derogate from the authority of the code
official to determine compliance with codes or standards for those activities or installations within
the code official’s jurisdiction or responsibility.

102.8 Matters not provided for.
Requirements that are essential for the public safety of an existing or proposed activity, building
or structure, or for the safety of the occupants thereof, which are not specifically provided for by
this code shall be determined by the code official.

I. Installation of Non-Required Fire Protection/Fire Suppression Systems.

1. Any non-required fire protection system installed voluntarily into a building shall
be installed as if it were required by the Code. This applies equally to Fire alarm
systems, fire sprinkler systems, fire suppression systems and any other system
regulated by the Code.

2. Partial coverage fire protection/fire suppression systems are not permitted.

II. Fire Alarm System Installation in Strip Malls or Similar Occupancies

Fire alarm systems installed in Strip Malls or Similar Occupancies shall be installed
to the following guidelines:

1. The fire alarm panel shall be installed in a central location approved by the Fire
Official.

 Examples of approved locations include but not limited to are; House
electrical panel locations. Central HVAC rooms, central electrical
rooms, etc…

 Examples of non-approved locations include but not limited to are; Indi-
vidual tenant spaces, exterior common areas, etc...

2. A remote annunciator capable of resetting the entire fire alarm system shall be
installed at a location approved by the Fire Official.

 Examples of approved locations include but are not limited to are; Pub-
lic common areas, interior public spaces, etc…
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3. The fire alarm panel shall have a street address capable of alerting the fire de-
partment to the fire alarm panel or annunciator panel location(s). The address of
the system shall be approved by the Fire Official.

4. Approved/listed audible/visible alerting devices meeting NFPA 72 and the North
Carolina Accessibility Code shall be provided throughout the building. Device
type and locations shall be approved by the Fire Official.

5. Any additional detection or alerting devices added by the individual tenant or oc-
cupant shall be connected to the building fire alarm panel. NO stand alone sys-
tems or devices shall be installed or maintained.

6. The fire alarm system shall be monitored by an approved Central Station Moni-
toring Company.

7. A Knox Box shall be installed on the building as per City Ordinance (Sec. 34-3.
Lock boxes).

8. Additional safeguards or requirements concerning the installation of Fire Alarm
System Installation in Strip Malls or Similar Occupancies may be implemented
by the Code Official based upon a case-by-case basis.


